-1.5 C
London
Saturday, December 10, 2022
HomeAsia Pacific NewsIndiaStuart Broad Uses Sachin Tendulkar's Example When Accused of 'Not Walking' in...

Stuart Broad Uses Sachin Tendulkar’s Example When Accused of ‘Not Walking’ in Light of Deepti Sharma-Charlie Dean’s Controversy

Date:

Stuart Broad Uses Sachin Tendulkar’s Example When Accused of ‘Not Walking’ in Light of Deepti Sharma-Charlie Dean’s Controversy
Stuart Broad used Sachin Tendulkar to defend himself and reply to a comment from Dodda Ganesh after his take on the
Deepti Sharma-Charlie Dean’s run-out controversy met with criticism from fans as well as experts.

Broad, issuing his opinion on the controversial run-out in the third ODI between India and England, had tweeted: “A run out? Terrible way to finish the game.”

In reply, Ganesh pulled out a video of Broad not walking off despite edging behind during the first test of the 2013 Ashes series.

“Nicking the ball to first slip and standing your ground as if nothing happened, is actually terrible. A Run-out isn’t. I guess, Match referee Chris Broad needs to educate his son on the laws of cricket,” he commented.

Broad, in reply to Ganesh’s tweet, shared a video from the 2008 CB Series between India and Australia, in which Tendulkar can be seen doing something similar.

“I repeat. And have 1000 examples – but Sachin Tendulkar was classed as “Lucky” for nicking it and not walking here. Thank you,” Broad tweeted.

Here is the Twitter exchange –

On Sunday, the Marylebone Cricket Club weighed in on the controversial run, saying the onus is on batters not to leave the crease at the non-striker’s end too soon.

The dismissal is legal but classed as ‘Unfair Play’ in the rule book, though that is to change from Oct. 1 when it is categorised simply as a run out.

“This was done to clarify this matter and to place an onus on batters to ensure that they do not leave the crease at the non-striker’s end, prior to a bowler releasing the ball,” MCC, the custodians of the game’s laws, said in a statement on Sunday.

“Whilst yesterday was indeed an unusual end to an exciting match, it was properly officiated and should not be considered as anything more.”


India captain Harmanpreet Singh had earlier praised Sharma for showing match “awareness”.

“I don’t think we have done anything new. It is an ICC rule and you always take those chances,” Kaur said after winning the series. “I will back my player because she has not done anything that is not part of the rule.”

(With inputs from Agencies)

Get the latest Cricket News, Schedule and Cricket Live Scores here


. by [author_name]

Related stories

Subscribe

Pricey pants from 1857 go for $114k, raise Levi’s questions

RENO, Nev. -- Pulled from a sunken trunk at...

Arab leaders welcome China’s cooperation in development at Riyadh summit

Saudi Arabia, China emerge as comprehensive strategic partners as...

- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories

spot_img

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here