Wednesday, September 28, 2022
HomeCricketNZ girls CWG 2022 squad

NZ girls CWG 2022 squad


NZ girls CWG 2022 squad

Offspinner Eden Carson and wicketkeeper-batter Izzy Gaze have earned their maiden call-ups to the New Zealand squad for the T20 competitors on the 2022 Commonwealth Games. Left-arm spinner Fran Jonas, who has performed 5 ODIs, and middle-order batter Georgia Plimmer, who was the alternative participant for Lauren Down on the 50-over World Cup earlier this 12 months, are additionally a part of the 15-member squad. All three gamers had been just lately handed their first-time New Zealand contracts.
Wicketkeeper-batter Jess McFayden, who traveled with the nationwide workforce on the tour to England final 12 months, can be within the squad. The touring celebration to the video games in Birmingham has two wicketkeepers in McFadyen and Gaze, three spinners in Amelia Kerr, Carson and Jonas, pacers Hannah Rowe, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Mair and Hayley Jensen and batters Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Maddy Green, Lauren Down and Brooke Halliday.

“To be the first women’s cricket team to represent the country at a global event like the Commonwealth Games is truly an honour,” captain Devine mentioned on the workforce’s first winter coaching camp at Bay Oval. “It’s been great to get the group back together this week at Bay Oval and our new squad members are finding their feet and fitting in well.”

“It’s a terrific time for cricket to be back at the Commonwealth Games – and it’s another excellent development for the women’s and girl’s game, both here and around the world,” NZC chief govt David White mentioned. “I’m sure the players are going to love the experience of being part of a wider New Zealand team, and the slightly different context of the Games environment.”

Women’s cricket is about to characteristic for the primary time on the Commonwealth Games. The New Zealand’s males’s workforce had received the bronze medal on the 50-over competitors performed in Kuala Lumpur in 1998.

The eight groups on the T20 competitors – which is scheduled to be performed from July 29 to August 7 – together with New Zealand are Australia, Barbados, England, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa. New Zealand are set to play their first match towards South Africa on July 30.

New Zealand squad: Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Sophie Devine (capt), Lauren Down, Izzy Gaze, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Amelia Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe

- Advertisement -

Related stories

Recent Match Report – Pakistan vs England 5th T20I 2022

England won the toss and chose to bowl against...

Recent Match Report – South Africa vs India 1st T20I 2022/23

Toss India opt to bowl v South Africa India and...

Latest stories


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here